Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)


Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

APEC was established in 1989 to further enhance economic growth and prosperity for the region and to strengthen the Asia-Pacific community.

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, or APEC, is the premier forum for facilitating economic growth, cooperation, trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific region.

APEC is the only inter governmental grouping in the world operating on the basis of non-binding commitments, open dialogue and equal respect for the views of all participants. Unlike the WTO or other multilateral trade bodies, APEC has no treaty obligations required of its participants. Decisions made within APEC are reached by consensus and commitments are undertaken on a voluntary basis. 

APEC has 21 members - referred to as "Member Economies" - which account for approximately 41% of the world's population, approximately 55% of world GDP and about 49% of world trade. 

APEC's 21 Member Economies are Australia; Brunei Darussalam; Canada; Chile; People's Republic of China; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Japan; Republic of Korea; Malaysia; Mexico; New Zealand; Papua New Guinea; Peru; The Republic of the Philippines; The Russian Federation; Singapore; Chinese Taipei; Thailand; United States of America; Vietnam.

Executive Director: Ambassador Juan Carlos Capuсay
2008 Executive Director of the APEC Secretariat

APEC Secretariat
35 Heng Mui Keng Terrace, Singapore 119616
Tel: (65) 68 919 600
Fax: (65) 68 919 690